Japanese Progress

So some of you readers know Japanese… just a guess 😉

I am, as you may or may not know, currently learning. This week I am learning some verbs such as : kasegu (to earn money) , gami gami iu (pester), iki o nomu (to catch one’s breath), wakaru (to understand) and kanashimaseru (to make sad).  So here’s the thing, I am pretty good at the flash cards but I feel like it is kind of slow going. In addition to making flash cards and learning that way is there any thing you guys recommend?

I have my son so I can’t really take a class right now, so it has to be something I can do here.

I have gotten way too excited when I hear phrases or even words I understand. (and not just the ones I have known for years like Kawaii, Sayonara and other super typical ones)

Ones like Onaka ga suita (I’m hungry). When I heard Panda on Shirokuma Cafe say this … I jumped around so much my husband got a bit annoyed…. 🙂

Anyhow, I think I am probably learning at an ok rate but I WANT MORE KNOWLEGE!!

tumblr_mkhpffQJm41r0bqfto1_500

5 thoughts on “Japanese Progress

  1. Panda is so cutie! (•̪┌┐•̪)

    If you haven’t already, learning the Kana would be an excellent step. I know it might seem silly if you focus on listening and speaking Japanese, but it is a necessary building block~!

    I work best with repetition and writing things out~

    Hmm~ Of course, everyone learns differently so experimenting with different methods is always a good idea ╮(─▽─)╭ <- what a great, ambiguous answer!

    Cheers on your learning! I've been studying Japanese for years, and you never really stop learning! ❤ (it's fun~!)

  2. Ah, yes…flash cards. I’ve made thousands of them. Lol. I’ve been studying japanese for about 14 years now!

    I think that reading is an excellent way to expand your vocabulary. As the previous commenter suggested, learning Kana is a necessary step. Then, if you can get your hands on an issue of the Hiragana Times, I would recommend that. 🙂

  3. Wow! You both have a lot of experience!! Thanks for your helpful comments. For now I am learning my hiragana alphabet, at the start of May I am starting to learn katakana as well. I have been trying to read along with a few games and a manga that I have but I feel like currently my translations of things are ending up way too literal… But as this is my 5th week of learning Japanese after putting it off for way too long, I think things will start to fall into place more soon.

  4. So happy you’re learning is going well, I would like to suggest somethings that helped me. You can start learning the names of items around the house and label them with the Japanese names so you always practice saying and seeing them. For reading I would suggest finding some children books in Japanese, I felt like it was perfect to help my reading skills just like when we were kids. One last thing I would say helped me is getting your hands on Genki texts books. I’ve been teaching myself with this before I met my husband and it’s really great. You can even check out their self study room online here http://genki.japantimes.co.jp/self_en.

    I hope this is helpful. Will suggest more ideas soon, I’m still learning too 😀

  5. I currently have the 2nd and 3rd of those text books! I am borrowing them from a friend but he doesn’t have the 1st one anymore…. I need to find some children’s books. That’s a really good idea! We currently have everything around the house labeled in English for my son. He is really behind in learning common words because of his autism so I don’t want to confuse him… but maybe once he gets used to school and things I can start to switch them slowly and maybe he will learn some Japanese too. 🙂 Thanks for the helpful ideas!

Leave a Reply

